The following organizations/leaders supported appointing Dr. George McKenna III to the LAUSD Board of Education to complete the unexpired term of Marguerite LaMotte. We thank you for your public support!

School Board Members:

  • Coalition of California Black School Board Members
  • Arnold Butler, Inglewood Unified School District Board of Education
  • Dr. Barbara Boudreaux, LAUSD Board of Education (ret.)
  • Dr. Deborah LeBlanc, Compton Community College District President
  • Dexter Henderson, Inglewood Unified School District Board of Education President (ret.)
  • Gloria Gray, Inglewood Unified School District Board of Education President (ret.)
  • Bishop Johnny Young, Ph.D., Inglewood Unified School District Board of Education
  • Loystene Irvin, Inglewood Unified School District Board of Education (ret.)
  • Larry Aubry, Inglewood Unified School District Board of Education (ret.)
  • Rita Walters, LAUSD Board of Education (ret.)
  • Roy Grimes, Sacramento City Board of Education President (ret.)
  • Saundra Davis, Culver City Board of Education (ret.)

Elected Officials:

  • Congresswoman Karen Bass
  • Congresswoman Maxine Waters
  • State Senator Holly Mitchell
  • Assemblymember Mike Davis (ret.)
  • Assemblymember Gwen Moore (ret.)
  • Assemblymember Shirley Weber
  • Carson Mayor Jim Dear
  • Gardena Council Member Rachel Johnson
  • LA Council Member Bernard Parks
  • LA Council Member Bob Farrell (ret.)
  • LA Council Member David Cunningham (ret.)
  • LA Council Member Jan Perry (ret.)
  • Water Replenishment District of Southern California Director Lynn Dymally


  • Advocates for Black Strategic Alternatives
  • African American Advisory Parent Council
  • African-American Cultural Center Los Angeles
  • Dr. Amen Rahh, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus at CSU-Long Beach
  • Associated Administrators of Los Angeles
  • Association of Mexican American Educators
  • Basil Kimbrew, California Friends of the African-American Caucus Chair
  • Black American Political Association of California
  • Black Community, Clergy and Labor Alliance
  • Black Los Angeles Young Democrats
  • Black Parent Union
  • Black Women’s Forum
  • Brotherhood Crusade President Charisee Bremond-Weaver
  • California Title I Parent Union
  • Dr. Charlie Knight, National Alliance of Black School Educators Past President
  • Coalition for Black Student Equity
  • The Committee for a New South LA
  • Concerned Parents and Community for a Better Education
  • Congress of Racial Equality-California
  • Council of Black Administrators
  • Council of Black Political Organizations
  • Council of Mexican American Administrators
  • Crenshaw Subway Coalition
  • Dr. David Horne, Ph.D., Columnist & Professor of Pan-African Studies at CSU-Northridge
  • Dorsey High School Alumni Association
  • Each One Teach One Alliance
  • Earl Ofari Hutchinson, Author & Journalist
  • Educate California
  • Education is a Civil Right Committee
  • Erin Aubry Kaplan, Author & Journalist
  • E. Tsehai Farrell, Author & Teacher, Inglewood USD (ret.)
  • Friends of Hyde Park Miriam Matthews Library Past President Linda Ricks
  • Helping Our People Excel for Life Foundation Director Scottie Gray
  • Holman United Methodist Church Women’s Auxiliary President Merle Davis
  • Hyde Park Organizational Partnership for Empowerment
  • I Choose Life Health & Wellness Center
  • Inner-city School District Association
  • Institute for Student Empowerment Founder/CEO Wes Hall
  • LA Focus Newspaper Publisher Lisa Collins
  • Latino Coalition of Los Angeles PAC President Raul Claros
  • Lillie’s Care Circle Founder Constance Kizzie Gillett
  • Links, Inc. Beverly Hills West (CA) Chapter Vice President Adell Batchelor Walker
  • Los Angeles African American Women Political Action Committee President Jackie Hawthorne
  • Los Angeles Council of Black Professional Engineers
  • Los Angeles County Alliance of Black School Educators President Dr. Carole Cobb
  • Los Angeles County Aviation Commissioner Clinton Simmons
  • Los Angeles County Democratic Party Secretary Carolyn Fowler
  • Los Angeles Sentinel Newspaper & Publisher Danny Bakewell
  • Los Angeles Urban Policy Roundtable
  • Dr. Maulana Karenga, Creator of Kwanzaa & Chair of Africana Studies at CSU-Long Beach
  • Medical Board of California Board Member Jaime Wright, esq.
  • NAACP Carson-Torrance Branch President Joseph Alfred
  • NAACP Compton Branch President Paulette Simpson-Gipson
  • NAACP Inglewood-South Bay Branch President Aron Baghn
  • NAACP Los Angeles Branch President Leon Jenkins
  • NAACP National Board Member & Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch President Ron Hasson
  • NAACP North San Diego County Branch President Satia Autin
  • NAACP Riverside Branch President Waudieur Rucker-Hughes
  • NAACP San Diego Branch President Lei-Chala Wilson
  • NAACP Santa Monica-Venice Branch President Darrell Goode
  • National Coalition of 100 Black Women President Dr. Thelma Eaton
  • New Frontier Democratic Club Past President Dove Savage Pinkney
  • The Organization Us
  • Parent-U-Turn
  • Reparations United Front of Los Angeles
  • Dr. Samuel Shacks, M.D. Ph.D., Former Director of LAUSD Student Medical Services
  • SEIU AFRAM Western Region President Sudharma Margaret Hawkins
  • Stonewall Young Democrats
  • Dr. Sylvia Rousseau
  • Tenth District Women’s Steering Committee
  • Turning Point Publications Publisher Pat Means
  • UCLA Black Alumni Association Board Chair Rickey Ivie
  • Washington High School Alumni Association
  • Watts Labor Community Action Committee Executive Director Tim Watkins
  • Westchester LAX Democratic Club President Sheila Mickelson
  • Western Province of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Immediate Past President Curtis Silvers
  • Western Regional Council on Educating Black Students President Tony Hicks
  • Windy Barnes Farrell, Singer & Director, Windy City Entertainment

Ecumenical Leaders:

  • Rev. Dr. J. Benjamin Hardwick, Western States Baptist Convention President
  • Rev. Cedric Alexander, Price Chapel AME Church
  • Rev. Dr. Clyde Oden Jr., Bryant Temple AME Church
  • Rev. Daryl Walker, New Philadelphia AME Church Rancho Dominguez
  • Rev. Donald Wilson, True Way Missionary Baptist Church
  • Rev. James McKnight, Congregational Church of Christian Fellowship
  • Bishop James Walker, Presiding Bishop, 9th Episcopal District of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Rev. Kelvin Sauls, Holman United Methodist Church
  • Brother Lonnell McBroom, Knights of Peter Claver & Ladies Auxiliary Western States District Coordinating Councils & Courts President
  • Rev. Mark Whitlock, COR Church
  • Rev. Michael Hopwood, Mount Tabor Missionary Baptist Church
  • Rev. Nathaniel Martin, New Life Institutional Baptist Church
  • Rev. Reuben Ford, First AME Church Santa Monica
  • Rev. Dr. Roy Petit, Miracle Center Apostolic Church

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s